Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame

MusicMusic News

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2015: Lou Reed, Green Day, Ringo Starr, + more

posted by Oscar December 16, 2014

Rock Hall Class of 2015

The “Class of 2015” of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has been unveiled: Lou Reed, Green Day, and Joan Jett and The Blackhearts lead the list of musicians that will now be a part of the elite selection of acts.

Along with those storied artists, the new Class also includes Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble, Bill Withers, and the Paul Butterfield Blues Band while former Beatle Ringo Starr will be given the Award For Musical Excellence and 1950s R&B group the “5” Royales will receive the Early Influence Award.

The induction ceremony will be held at Cleveland’s Public Hall on April 18th, 2015. The general public will be allowed to attend; tickets go on sale this Thursday (12/18). Get yours here.

(Rolling Stone)

MusicMusic News

Nirvana, KISS & Hall and Oates Inducted to Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

posted by Oscar December 16, 2013

Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame

The class of 2014 inductees to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will include Nirvana (inducted on first year of eligibility), KISS, Peter Gabriel, Hall and Oates, Cat Stevens and Linda Ronstadt, according to Rolling Stone. Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band will receive the Award for Musical Excellence while Beatles manager Brian Epstein and Rolling Stones manager Andrew Loog Oldham will receive the Ahmet Ertegun award for non-performers.

The induction ceremony will take place at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center on April 10, airing on HBO in May, will be open to the public; tickets go on sale in January.

Missing out on the new class include The Replacements, LL Cool J, N.W.A. and Deep Purple.

*Finally, KISS gets their due (after 15 years of eligibility) and all those years of holding them as my favorite band feel a lot more justified now.

MusicMusic News

Nirvana, KISS, NWA Nominated for Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2014

posted by Oscar October 15, 2013

Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame

Rolling Stone has announced the nominees for the 2014 class of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Nirvana, KISS (finally!), The Replacements, Hall and Oates, Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Chic, Deep Purple, Peter Gabriel, LL Cool J, N.W.A., Link Wray, the Meters, Linda Ronstadt, Cat Stevens, Yes and the Zombies.

For the second consecutive year, the public gets to vote alongside the artists, historians and music industry insiders of the Rock Hall voting body. From now until December 10th, fans can vote on RollingStone.com for the nominees they’d like to see inducted. The top five acts will comprise a “fan’s ballot” that will count as one of the more than 600 ballots that determine the Class of 2014.

The top vote-getters will be inducted in April at a ceremony in New York City so make sure you vote for your favorites from this list.

Nirvana has made the list on its first year of eligibility, making them the only act on this list with that highlight. KISS on the other hand had been omitted from the list of nominees every year since they were first eligible back in ’99. Two of my oldest T-shirts (which I still own and regularly wear) have these two bands’ respective logos emblazoned on them and I couldn’t be more glad about this news. Now, to see who gets in.